Today I decided to do something I have been putting off for the last few years and that is counting calories, exercising and getting a hold of my eating habits.  According to the CDC’s own website I am overweight.  Currently I am around 205lbs (6’1″), my goal is to drop to around 185-190lbs.  Although at first glance I may not appear to be overweight, I am.

It really hit me hard yesterday when I was trying on some jeans while out shopping, the jeans simply looked terrible on me, on top of that the jeans sizes I usually wear would not fit on me no matter how much I tugged and pulled, it simply was not going to happen.  So me being “hard headed” as my dad used to call me when I was a kid, I was going to blame the jeans at the store, the store simply had the wrong size on the jeans…at least that’s what I told myself.

After arriving home I decided to try on my own jeans, I would prove to the world and myself that the jeans at the store were wrong and my weight was fine.  It didn’t happen.  My jeans no longer fit me.  At that moment I decided I am going to do something about it.

So here it is the following morning and as I type this I have a notepad next to me to count my calories throughout the coming days.  It is also my goal to get more active and to do some type of exercise whether it is walking, running, weightlifting, anything to keep me active  for 30-60 minutes a day.  I know that may not sound like much, but most people including myself make excuses and claim we are “to busy” to do this or that.

It’s time to change that, starting today.

-Eric

